No more New Years Resolutions for Me!

I made a resolution to myself a few years ago to not make anymore resolutions because the outcome was always the same. I would make resolutions on New Year’s Eve, be all psyched, excited and ready to conquer them all come January first. But as the days went by my excitement and readiness to conquer those resolutions would slowly fade. By March or April the excitement has completely disappeared and its like the same as it was the previous year. Just living day to day not really happy with anything but not really motivated enough to change anything. There’s a saying you can’t do the same things over and over again and expect different results. In order to get different results you need to change what you are doing so I started looking at the new year differently. Instead of making resolutions I make promises to myself. To work on things that just make sense to me and after spending the last couple of weeks thinking about these promises I think I have come up with a short list that I can definitely stick to for the new year.

1. I promise to work on my crocheting more, I honestly never thought I would say this 122413 flower headband and I’m pretty sure my grandmother is smiling down on me and saying see I told you how much you would love it all you had to do was give it a try. Crocheting makes me happy  even if I’m in the worst mood some how once I’ve sat down and started crocheting everything just melts away and I’m in my happy place

2.  I promise to look at everything through the eyes of my children. As an adult it is so  very hard to not look at things through tainted eyes. When you see nothing but bad news being reported on a daily basis while flipping through channels at night its hard to not be completely disappointed in humanity. But I don’t want to lose my hope in humanity because I know there are amazing acts of kindness that happen on a regular basis.  DSC_0885I want to look at things with brand new eyes and a new perspective, one of wonder and fascination. Perspective can be a wonderful thing it can make a seemingly bad day turn into a memory you can cherish for years to come.

3.  I promise to spend more time as a family doing fun things that don’t necessarily require lots of money or any money for that matter.  This last year was tough financially with Jason needing to take off 3-4 weeks at a time to have procedures done on his foot. We rarely had the extra cash for elaborate family trips. So we had to get creative and find fun things to do as a family that didn’t require anything other then us loading up into the car and driving somewhere relatively close.  Beach funWe had lots of fun times at the lake right down the street from our house and who can resist the cool wind in your hair and the heated sand  between your toes as you slowly dig them in while laughing & smiling as your husband and oldest daughter splash around in the cool water.

4. I promise to cook more home made meals.  We definitely had to get more creative with our meals this last year and learn how to stretch our dollars even more then they already where. meatball sub closeeup But I’ve learned that I love being in the kitchen and trying new recipes even if those recipes have only been made up in my head. I love cooking food for my family and it brings me such joy when they tell me how yummy the meal was and how much they enjoyed it. It’s also wonderful to know exactly what is in the food we eat and I don’t have to worry about some strange additive I can’t pronounce being on the label.

5. Last and certainly not least I promise to spend more time on myself. Again so many things happened in 2013 not only to my family in general Christmas morning but I was diagnosed with full blown diabetes and I need to start taking better care of myself. It’s so very easy to forget about myself when I have 2 young children, a husband and a household to take care. I always put myself last and I know that is one of the many reasons why I have ended up in the situation I am in at this very moment. I spend so much time taking care of everyone else and I spend no time putting that much effort into who I am and not only where I want to go but also what kind of example I want to set for my children. I don’t want to be the mom who sits on the sidelines while their child is out running and playing in the backyard. I want to be the mom who is out there by their side running, jumping and playing right along with them. A mom who doesn’t get winded climbing a flight of stairs, someone who can’t ride on the roller coasters with them because I’m too big for the seat.  I want to feel 1000% comfortable in my body and my skin, I want to feel sexy and not have to dread going clothes shopping. Wondering if I will be able to find something that I can not only fit into but doesn’t make me feel worse then I already do.

I know out of all the promises I am making to myself promise #5 is going to be the hardest one for me to keep. This isn’t my first rodeo I know how difficult this is going to be because it isn’t about a diet its about a complete lifestyle change and a change like that doesn’t just happen over night. I didn’t get to be this weight and think this way about myself over night it has taken many years and the same will go for this promise. I know there will many ups and downs, falling off the wagon and many, many days/weeks I will want to just give up and forget about everything. But I need to remember to not be so dam hard on myself and remember tomorrow is a new day filled with new chances to change myself for the better.

2013 may  have been a very tough year for my family but here we are December 31, 2013 and we are stronger then we were when we started this year and I know it can only get better from here on out.

                            So here is to 2014.

May we all have a year filled with laughter, love, happiness and more blessings then we know what to do with.

This entry was posted in All about me, Family, Holidays, Making Memories, Motherhood, Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No more New Years Resolutions for Me!

  1. PolkadotsandBunkergear says:

    Happy New Year Diane!! I hope 2014 brings you lots of love and happiness. I love your idea of promises. I made goals that I am looking at as life changes. I want better for myself and my family and I feel like they will get us there.

  2. Christina says:

    You are such a strong and amazing woman! I am so proud of you and your little family!!! I know 2014 is going to be so much more for you all! I am SO proud to be your sister!!! 🙂

  3. knewt16 says:

    I love the idea of looking through life through our children’s innocent lenses. Our world would be such a happier place if we could all do this! Happy New Year!

  4. knewt16 says:

    I think my comment disappeared 🙂 but I love the idea of seeing the world through an innocent child. Our world would be so much better if we could all do this. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

